Publicerad artikel

Improving agricultural pollution abatement through result-based payment schemes. Land Use Policy 77: 209-219.

Författare: William Sidemo Holm  Henrik G Smith  Mark Brady 

Action-based payments that compensate farmers for adopting land-management measures to preserve and enhance the environment have been criticized for being ineffective. The root of the problem is that farmers are not paid for achieving a desired environmental benefit, but compensated for their costs of management. There is growing interest in formulating result-based economic incentives. By paying for an environmental benefit and allowing flexibility in how to achieve it, farmers are given an incentive to exploit their comparative advantages for achieving a desired environmental benefit cost-effectively. However, the feasibility and relative effectiveness of result-based payments for reducing agricultural pollution is contentious.

In this study, we designed and evaluated a result-based payment scheme for nonpoint-source pollution abatement from arable land. In a case study in southern Sweden, the cost-effectiveness of the new scheme was compared with that of an existing action-based scheme for vegetated buffer strips to prevent the pollutant, particulate phosphorus, from reaching water resources. The results suggest that result-based payment schemes based on modeled outcomes of pollution abatement are feasible and will considerably improve cost-effectiveness compared to action-based schemes, by relocating buffer strips to where they are more effective and not simply where they have the lowest costs for farmers.

Länk till artikeln:

För en kortfattad version på svenska, se AgriFood Policy Brief 2016:5.

Liknande publikationer

AgriFood Policy Brief 2019:12
Resurser att utnyttja - hur effektivt är det svenska jordbruket?
AgriFood Policy Brief 2019:11
Att täta en läcka – fungerar en klimattull på jordbruksprodukter?
AgriFood-Policy Brief 2019:9
EU:s inkomstförsäkring för jordbrukare – behövs den?


William Sidemo Holm

Henrik G Smith

Mark Brady